General Information
ROMACT Cycle: 
Mayor of the Municipality: 
Ioan Mocean
Maria Lepadat
Total population: 
6 942
National census 2011
Roma living in the Municipality: 
Description of the Municipality: 

 *Disclaimer: The information and views set out in this page do not necessarily reflect the official opinion of the Council of Europe and/or the European Commission. Neither the Council of Europe, the European Commission nor any person acting on their behalf may be held responsible for the use which may be made of the information contained therein.

Sărmașu is a town in Mureș County, central Transylvania, Romania. It administers seven villages: Balda, Larga, Moruț, Sărmășel, Sărmășel-Gară,Titiana and Vișinelu. 
The unofficial number of Roma inhabitants is about 2000 persons, living in two different areas.

The ROMACT Process

ROMACT started in November 2018 with the signature of the Letter of Agreement.  The joint Local Action Plan for Roma inclusion was adopted in September 2019. 

Timeline Points

20 Nov 2018
Step 1- Becoming Commited- Signature of the letter of commitment
20 Sep 2019
Step 3- Translating priorities into measures. Joint Action Plan for Roma inclusion adopted by the Local Council
Disclaimer - © Council of Europe 2015 - © photo credit