General Information
ROMACT Cycle: 
Mayor of the Municipality: 
Viorel Ionescu
Contact Person within the Municipality: 
Stan Dumitra, vice mayor
Daniel Ganea
Total population: 
10 420
National census 2011
Roma living in the Municipality: 
1 550
Description of the Municipality: 

*Disclaimer: The information and views set out in this page do not necessarily reflect the official opinion of the Council of Europe and/or the European Commission. Neither the Council of Europe, the European Commission nor any person acting on their behalf may be held responsible for the use which may be made of the information contained therein.

Hârșova is located on the right bank of the Danube, in Constanța County. The town also administers the village of Vadu-Oii.
The unofficial number of Roma is about 2 300. They live in two large communities – one of Christian Roma and another one of Muslim Roma.

The ROMACT Process

ROMACT process started in Hârșova with the signature of the Letter of Agreement in April 2018.

The Joint Action Plan was adopted in November 2018. In March 2019, the Municipal Taskforce for Roma Inclusion was created.

Training were provided:

The local authorities were trained/coached in:
* Implementation of projects financed from the Operational Programme for Human Capital (OPHC) 2014-2020
* Project management (vocational training)
* Public procurement (vocational training)
* Implementation of projects funded under OPHC
* Accessing Structural Cohesion Funds

The CAG was trained/coached in:
* Obtaining property documents in Court
* Creating a NGO
* Attributions of the Local Council

CAG and Local Authorities were jointly trained in:
* Multiculturalism  and fighting early marriages phenomena
* Obtaining property documents in Court
* Creating a NGO
* Attributions of the Local Council


Timeline Points

2 Apr 2018
Step 1- Becoming Commited- Signature of the letter of agreement
29 Nov 2018
Step 3- Translating priorities into measures- Joint Action Plan for Roma inclusion adopted by City Council
14 Mar 2019
First Taskforce meeting
Disclaimer - © Council of Europe 2015 - © photo credit