General Information
ROMACT Cycle: 
Reinforced process
Mayor of the Municipality: 
Eshref Eshrefov
Contact Person within the Municipality: 
Stela Atanasova - secretary of the municipality
Dyian Dankov
Total population: 
20 818
Administration of Omurtag municipality
Roma living in the Municipality: 
2 415
Description of the Municipality: 

*Disclaimer: The information and views set out in this page do not necessarily reflect the official opinion of the Council of Europe and/or the European Commission. Neither the Council of Europe, the European Commission nor any person acting on their behalf may be held responsible for the use which may be made of the information contained therein.

Omurtag Municipality is located in Targovishte Province, Northeastern Bulgaria. It is named after its administrative centre - the town of Omurtag. 42 villages are also administered by the municipality. 

Roma are located in eight neighbourhoods in Omurtag municipality: in Omurtag (town)  and in the villages of Kamburovo, Belomortsi, Zvezditsa,  Iliyno, Kestenovo, Panichino and Tapchileshtov. 

In Omurtag Municipality, Roma are Bulgarian, Romani and/or Turkish speakers. 

The ROMACT Process

ROMACT started in March 2020 with the signature of the Letter of agreement

The Taskforce for Roma inclusion was created following Mayor's approval in September 2020. 

In November 2020 , the Municipality Inclusion Development Plan was adopted and included half of the community proposals.

ROMACT Small Grants Scheme
ROMACT offers small grants scheme to support the efforts of the municipalities and Community Action Groups to respond together to the needs of the most vulnerable and to multiply the good practices across ROMACT municipalities.
Under the scheme of small grants, the following projects were supported by ROMACT between April 2020 - March 2021:

Initiative to counter COVID19 pandemic – Municipality of Omurtag
ROMACT supported the municipality with 2037 € reaching 90 families in Roma community. The project covered information campaign on COVID19 and provided masks, disinfectant products, informative flyers to raise awareness in the community. Food supplies were also provided for families with dire financial situation.

Teachers and parents together for positive development of children – Municipality of Omurtag
ROMACT supported the municipality with 4928 €, reaching 71 students and their parents from Radost kindergarten in Omurtag. The project introduced an innovative approach in the education of younger children to combine the efforts of teachers and parents in the education of children. Necessary repair works were carried out to create a space where age-appropriate play and sports facilities were installed. Fruit trees and plants were also planted in the yard to create a green and clean area for children and their families. Families of the children volunteered to clean and take care of the yard which enabled a long-term commitment and communication among families and the school community.

We succeed together – Creating an inclusive environment for children – Municipality of Omurtag
ROMACT supported the municipality with 3822 €, reaching 110 students from families with dire financial situation. The project increased the pupils’ school attendance with higher level of self-esteem in a proper sanitary environment through the procurement of school supplies and hygiene products for each pupil. Pupils and their families received counselling sessions on integrated measures against the pandemic and the importance of education to reduce school dropouts during the pandemic.

Timeline Points

25 Mar 2020
STEP 1- Becoming committed- Signature of the letter of agreement by the mayor
21 Sep 2020
Creation of Taskforce
27 Nov 2020
Municipality Inclusion Development Plan is adopted by the Local Council
31 Dec 2021
End of ROMACT Process
30 Mar 2023
ROMACT Reinforced
Disclaimer - © Council of Europe 2015 - © photo credit